28th November 2017

Whisky Production Returns to the Clyde.

For the first time in more than a century a new distillery will open its doors on the banks of the River Clyde. Clydeside Distillery will be housed next to the Riverside Museum in the Pump House, part of the former Queen’s Dock.

It will begin production of a Lowland single malt Scotch whisky which will be aimed at both the local Scottish market and further afield. The whisky will be produced using a combination of traditional methods and new technology. The Pump House will have a café, shop, visitor centre and an interactive whisky experience for visitors to enjoy.

Clydeside Distillery is part of the Morrison Glasgow Distiller group whose chairman Tim Morrison has family connections to The Queen’s Dock as it was his great grandfather John Morrison who built the dock back in 1877. Mr Morrison stated that it was a great day for the local whisky industry as the spirit would now be produced on the banks of the River Clyde after a gap of more than a hundred years.

The Queen’s Dock was previously at the heart of the whisky exporting business in Scotland sending consignments of the spirit all over the world. Mr Morrison’s son Andrew will be the commercial director of the distillery and he stated that he was very proud to see the new distillery now open and was confident that this will put Glasgow firmly back on the Scotch whisky map. It is envisaged that the new distillery will create around 25 new jobs.